Rugby World Cup Years

rugby world cuprugby union world cup


The Rugby World Cup is the pinnacle of the rugby calender. Occurring every four years since 1987, it has drawn comparisons to the football world cup, which is also staged every four years. The so called 'big nations' have always fared well in the competition. Australia and South Africa have both won the competition 2 times, whilst England and New Zealand are at 1 win apiece. Another great rugby playing nation, France, have never won the competition, but have been losing finalists on 2 occasions. The tournament has proved to be a massive success, and is a fantastic showcase for the talents playing in national leagues around the world.

Although not as popular or as big, the Rugby League world cup actually pre-dates this competition my many years, the first tournament being held in 1954. The tournament has been dominated by Australia, and Australian players from the NRL rugby League have helped their nation to 9 victories.

The next Rugby Union world cup will be in New Zealand, whilst the Rugby League world cup location for 2013 has yet to be decided.

History: World Cup 1987 World Cup 1991 World Cup 1995
World Cup 1999 World Cup 2003 World Cup 2007
Categories teams fixtures
scores jersey dates
tickets news game
TV results Group
final winners Sevens
Nations france australia
south africa wales england





Partner Websites: Football Stop Smoking Height Increase Health Website

© 2006 World Cup Years Ltd.